Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2020, 03:23 PM   #1

Hello! Full time Rving student from KY!

Hello! Glad to find the forum and such a wealth of knowledge at hand. My name is Carol, I am a full time student at MSU. I’m also the mother of three grown children. So a dorm just wasn’t an option for me. Can you imagine the horror painted on the face of some fresh faced eighteen year old as they walked in to meet their roommate and realized they had not escaped a mother’s influence after all?! So looking for options, my husband and I decided (after much searching) to purchase a 2019 Puma. We figured it would be an investment, save rent and after I graduate we can travel the states!

I’ve been in the camper for a year and a half and have a year to go. And boy have I learned a lot, and realize that I know nothing! Even after a year of staying in the camper four to five days a week, I’m still learning the ins and outs of this living space option.

I’m still battling the fear of wind gusts, fighting with propane tanks, managing the winter and struggling to keep the hose thawed out, and of course... the big one.... gnats/fruit flies in summer. Any advice is truly welcome!

Thanks for having me and I’ll be stumbling around threads looking for those that have come before me and left kernels of wisdom behind.
Cah341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 03:31 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou

Carol, WELCOME to the forum!

We are so happy you are here.

As far as tips on your current situation (permanent - but temporary - spot), might I suggest.

1) Rent a 100 pound (or larger) propane tank and have them deliver your propane by truck.

2) Insulate the base of your camper with sheets of foam board on a framework of 2x4s so wind and air does not circulate under the camper.

3) Invest in a heater water hose.