Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2021, 08:35 AM   #1
Oh Gawd, what did I do?

New Avenger 17BHS - picking up in 2 weeks

I'm completely new to the camper life, but not to camping. My wife made it clear that she's slept her last night in a tent last fall, so we bought an RV at the Pittsburgh RV show a couple weeks ago.

I opted as a novice, for a short single axle camper that I can haul with my 2019 Ford F150 STX FX4 2.7L EB, it came pre-wired with the trailer brake controller and has the additional trans cooler. Dry weight on this trailer is just south of 3200lbs. I've already pulled near this weight with the Boy Scout trailer to summer camp a couple times and it pulled like a dream - I never even knew the trailer was behind me to be honest.

I know the only thing that comes with the camper is the electrical shore line. So i've been buying things on Amazon to be ready to go directly from the RV store to the campground that weekend.

So far, I've gotten e-z level guages, drive on levelers, 20' dump hose with clear elbows, a 50-30A converter dogbone, water line, water filter, and some heavy duty chocks (4).

I asked about surge protection and I am told it's highly recommended. I'm also told they don't work well with adapters...so do I need to get two? A 50A and a 30A?

What other start-up "junk" do I need to get to be operational? Sanitization stuff? Cleaning stuff? What kind of stuff do you have in a tool kit that stays with the trailer? Oh, I also bought a Chicago Electric 12v impact for running the scissor jacks down, it was on clearance at Harbor Freight last week.

I have so many questions...what have I gotten into?
jayd4wg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 08:59 AM   #2