Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-20-2020, 04:55 PM   #1

New to travel trailer

Hi there im new to this. Me and my family always go off grid camping and use generator when We've gone in past. Like to start using the battery and solar panels. Besides that, im curious to what i can plug in to my stock tv outlet can i use that as i would a car cig outlet. We like a fan going at night and i know the only stuff in camper that works off battery is lights, radio, furnace and water pump. So would like to be able to use a tv and fan off the 12 volt system. But im not sure how to do so or if ita possible. Its an older travle trailer 1992 suline saturn if that matters. Anyone who can give advice and shed sone light for me would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Glidden88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 05:18 PM   #2

I also want to mention the solar panle we will be using will be to just charge rv battery. Nothing big.
Old 02-20-2020, 05:55 PM   #3
Site Team

Since it's a nearly 30 year old non-Forest River product, not sure how much a 12v outlet that old could power.
You should look for an inverter to power the tv, if its a 110v tv. We use a 150w inverter to power our 32" Vizio tv.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 05:58 PM   #4

Oh ok i dodnt realize this forum fwas for specific campers tjays my fault i thought it was for all. Tha ks for info thou wosh i didnt register kmowinf that now.
Old 02-20-2020, 06:14 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glidden88 View Post
Oh ok i dodnt realize this forum fwas for specific campers tjays my fault i thought it was for all. Tha ks for info thou wosh i didnt register kmowinf that now.
You are correct. This is NOT just for Forest River owners.