Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-29-2013, 10:16 PM   #1

Thumbs up New (Used) 27HFS Owner in TX

After looking at Toy Haulers for literally *years*, I finally was blessed enough to purchase a very clean 2011 27HFS. Truthfully - I just wanted a portable A/C - but the family wanted something more .

Extras
Onan Gen
Weight Dist Hitch
15K BTU A/C - good stuff in TX
Power Tongue Jack
Fuel Station -
Portable Black water dump tank

We bought it a few weeks ago - and loaded up just after Christmas to play in the mud a little.

The previous owner went over everything - and I tried to take notes/remember everything. This weekend proved that I don't remember so much any more .

I have rented several times before - so I don't feel like a total noob - but I did have my share of opportunities for learning.

Towing out went well. We have an F150 Ecoboost - and other than MPG - it towed nice. Towing home was harder. It was windy - and I tried to stay below 60. My wife predicted an F250 in our future!

I did fill up the fuel station - but didn't use enough gas in any of the toys to try it out.

The water, lights, awning, elec bed, slide-out, fridge all worked well. We even fired up the generator even though we were on shore power.

The Furnace didn't seem to work. The fan would come on an blow for a while and then go off. I don't think it ever actually fired up on LP. We ended up using a small electric heater and survived. Something to read up on.

No hot water either. I'm totally sure that I turned on the Hot Water switch before filling the heater. I'll have to go buy another heating element. Also - didn't seem to work on LP either.

Truthfully - nothing seemed to work on LP other than the cooking surface. That said - I was a little paranoid and kept turning off the tanks.