Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-12-2013, 08:09 AM   #1

picking up new rv tomorrow: what other stuff do i need to buy?

Hello! I am new to rv ownership, I have never been camping in one - but we pick up our new 2013 Salem Cruise Lite tomorrow. The van is at the rv dealer getting a receiving hitch and everything else it needs to tow today.

As we were leaving they mentioned that we will need hoses, chemicals and other stuff - this threw me off. I did not know we needed to buy more stuff. My question is this, what do we really need? I am trying to avoid them talking us into getting a bunch of stuff we don't actually need.

Thank you!
FishingChiquita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:21 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your new 2013 Salem Cruise Lite.
You'll need a water pressure regulator, white water hose, wheel chocks, rug to put down by door, hose to dump tanks. I would add screens for furnace exhaust, water heater and fridge vents to keep bugs from building nests. I recommend a cover for any roof vents too. Bring some pressure treated 2X6 boards for leveling on site. Bring a level too as your fridge operates best when level. 4 more PT 2X6's about 8" long to put under stabilizer jacks. Spare fuses, bulds, volt meter. There's more that others will recommend, but I gotta run.
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:25 AM   #3
Resident Masshole

Welcome to the forum! I am new to this myself. The RV dealer did give us a 'welcome kit' with a few things, but I ended up buying a better septic hose, chemicals for the black/gray tanks, water hose, foot mats for the stairs, a surge protector, a vent cover for the roof (to go over the front Miracle Fan...may or may not apply to you), heater exhaust screen, and one or two other little things. Except for the vent cover, it was all necessary stuff IMHO.