Old 07-17-2017, 12:23 PM   #1

Exclamation Total newbie in Washington State

My wife just retired and we decided for a number of reasons that we wanted to travel in the US and decided a fifth wheel was better than the 20' pop up we had. So we found our 2013 Forest River 32RL.

I have never pulled a whale before (35', 5 tons), thus I call it a Silver Orca and am a bit nervous as my daily driver is a 2001 VW Beetle diesel, ... well and our Ford F-350 Superduty Crewcab 7.1L SRW truck.

When not on the road, it will be parked under cover on 20 acres near Lake Roosevelt in Washinton State.

My biggest worry, today, is height. It is 12' 7" high and it struck me (in the middle of the night) that on our recent trip to Montana that I drove through a bridge with a 11' 4" clearance! I made note of it because the canopy on my truck is too tall to fit in our garage.

Does this happen a lot? How do I find the clearance ahead of time?

As I told my brother, I can't turn on a dime, it takes at least a quarter, a quarter acre.

Any help would be appreciated.
RobertDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 04:18 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum from upstate NY. Like you I had concerns when it comes to height, ours is 12' 11". I purchased a motor carriers road atlas ( used by semi drivers)and keep it in the truck, it makes for good reading the night before you head out just to be sure your route doesn't have any "can openers" on it. Enjoy the new 5er, God Bless.
'13 GMC 2500HD
Duramax/Allison
Otegoans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 06:19 PM   #3

Another option is the Garmin RV 760LMT Portable GPS Navigator - it has options to enter your RV length/height to be used in determining routes.
Most every road I've been on in the PNW are traveled by log trucks so I'm OK, but I'm also only a smidge over 11'6".

Welcome from (currently) Montana.
Old 07-19-2017, 06:41 PM   #4