Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2013, 05:05 PM   #1

Truck Tires & Rear Kitchens

So...an RV friend says I need to change my F150 tires to ones that start with "E" because regular truck tires won't stand up to the loads of a 5th wheel RV. Do you agree?? Question two: same friend says not to buy a 5th wheel with a rear kitchen because of the rear sway and the rear of the RV gets more up and down movement causing things to shake loose. Comments? Thanks, I'm new at this and have never had a 5th wheel...or any RV unit.
Buddy231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:11 PM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddy231 View Post
So...an RV friend says I need to change my F150 tires to ones that start with "E" because regular truck tires won't stand up to the loads of a 5th wheel RV. Do you agree?? Question two: same friend says not to buy a 5th wheel with a rear kitchen because of the rear sway and the rear of the RV gets more up and down movement causing things to shake loose. Comments? Thanks, I'm new at this and have never had a 5th wheel...or any RV unit.
There may be some misunderstandings here on your Tow Vehicle tires. I think your friend may have been referring to a Load Range E (which is 10 ply rated) tire. The tire size will not start with an E.........but either a P (passenger) or LT (light truck). When you get to the LT designation, you may then see tires in a Load Range C (6 ply), D (8 ply), E (10 ply), or higher. Your Load Range/Ply Rating letter designation will not be in your tire size but placed somewhere else on the tire.

I personally don't know the ratings of your truck or trailer, but it seems like a F-150 would be too light a truck for a fifth-wheel.

A 72 hour hold in a psych unit is beginning to intrigue me as a potential vacation opportunity.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Mod free 5er