Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2015, 08:41 AM   #1

Adding Dimmer Switches

I would like to add dimmer switches to the LED lights above the sofa and above the dinette. Will a regular dimmer switch work for this or what do I need to look for? Need it simple as I'm not an electrician.
SkipnTerri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 08:49 AM   #2
Future Roo 23IKSS Owner

All the lighting (maybe a few exceptions) is low voltage (12VDC), so you need to use a low voltage dimmer. These are typically small dial switches that won't fit at most typical light switch locations due to the size of the dimmer body behind the cover plate.

You might be able to install one at each fixture. Where do you want the dimmer installed wall or fixture? How many light do you want to be controlled with each switch?

Erik Lundquist
iPhone 6S using Tapatalk
elundquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 08:53 AM   #3

I installed one these on both of our awning LED strip lights. Should work for any 12V LED light, just put them in the wiring before the light.

There are also many of the RF remote control style as well. I didn't want another remote laying around and there have been some reports of failures with them as well.
Old 11-03-2015, 08:54 AM   #4
Future Roo 23IKSS Owner

Here is one dimmer product just for RV/Marine.

JR Products 12275 Black Dimmer On/Off Switch with Bezel https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002UC6Q0E..._aXlowb1AEXTJM

Erik Lundquist
iPhone 6S using Tapatalk
Old 11-03-2015, 09:27 AM   #5

Erik, I want to replace the current switch that controls two LED lights above the sofa and another that controls two LEDs above the dinette. The one you referenced says it's not recommended for LED. Went to Lowes and Home Depot and they carry LED dimmers; however, I don't know if they would work in an RV.

Skip
Old 11-03-2015, 09:44 AM   #6
Future Roo 23IKSS Owner