Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2017, 12:41 AM   #1

Adding Solar: Need Factory Authorized Parts and Installer

Next month our one year factory warranty expires. This means we can now make some desired modifications. One thing we're looking at adding is solar since we like to boondock and we've already had some power issues. We purchased an Extended Warranty and it will cover solar as long as we use factory authorized parts and a factory authorized installer.

I've been doing a lot of solar research (and have more to do) so I'm getting a reasonable idea of what we might want, however I have no experience with the factory authorized part. The Extended Warranty folks said it's up to Forest River to approve the parts and installer, not them -- as long as Forest River approves the solar it will be covered by our warranty. Is there anyone out there that has had "factory authorized" solar installed on their Forest River?

Thank you in advance,
Nookaroos
: )
Nookaroos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2017, 05:23 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nookaroos View Post
Next month our one year factory warranty expires. This means we can now make some desired modifications. One thing we're looking at adding is solar since we like to boondock and we've already had some power issues. We purchased an Extended Warranty and it will cover solar as long as we use factory authorized parts and a factory authorized installer.