Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2011, 09:40 PM   #1

Fire Safety Concerns/updates

When I did my walk through before purchase on a 2012 Roo 21SS I was very impressed with the camper aspect of the interior and exterior. (upgrading from a fleetwood popup). Now being a firefighter I am also one to look at life safety devices where ever I go. I was severely disappointed with the included (read: useless) fire extinguisher. only good thing about it is that it was located in a good location according to the NFPA (near egress route)

Now before I get full blown into the post I would like to state that I did a quick search through the forums to see if there were any posts such as this. I did not find anything so in addition to my above comments I will post some information and advice to hopefully keep other people safe and give them some information. Maybe a sticky if people like it?

While there are a bunch of different types of fire extinguisher agents (dry chem, CO2, Air Pressurized Water etc) that each have their pros and cons I will not be discussing this.

There are 5 main fire extinguisher Ratings:

A- Ordinary combustibles (pretty much 90% of what a camper is made of). Way to remember: "A turns to Ash when it burns"

B- "Boiling liquids and Vapors" LP, Gas, Diesel, etc.

C- "Charged Electrical Equipment"- self explanatory. HOWEVER- when you removed the electrical charge it will change types- probably to A.

D- "Dangerous when mixed with water" These are special metal fires such as magnesium. You will most likely not encounter these and not need a D rated extinguisher but I include for educational purposes.

K- "Kitchen" This type of extinguisher is for industrial kitchens with large deep fat friers. this is not to be confused with a home kitchen or camper kitchen. You will not need a K rated extinguisher but I included for educational purposes.