Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2020, 06:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 19
Furrion mount, too much wire!

I managed to cram it all back in the mount, barely, and I'm worried about the pressure it is pushing out from the wall... maybe ripping out the screws. Has anyone cut and shortened the wire? As long as I attach and seal the joint, it'll be ok?

Thx.
Dragon1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 79
Assuming you are talking about an observation camera I just took my time and pushed the wiring down between the wood framing. I haven't had any issues.
__________________
2020 F-250 XLT
2020 Salem Cruise Lite 241QBXL
Ryan-OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:08 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan-OH View Post
Assuming you are talking about an observation camera I just took my time and pushed the wiring down between the wood framing. I haven't had any issues.
I will try that... good idea. Thanks.
Dragon1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 79
Forgot to mention; try to keep the connector from the trailer side where you can get to it. You don't want it to accidentally fall to where you can't get to it.
__________________
2020 F-250 XLT
2020 Salem Cruise Lite 241QBXL
Ryan-OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 06:59 AM   #5
Canadian Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,260
I’ve installed both a Furrion observation camera and a Haloview camera on the Furrion mount. The Haloview camera has a lot more wire than the Furrion and I was able to get it all stuffed in the Furrion mount. It’s definitely a snug fit but it can be done. I know what your saying though.

The variable will be how much wiring the factory left outside the wall. Try pushing the factory pigtail back into the wall. If you’re really concerned you can remove the mount and the rubber seal piece, hollow out the wall cavity a bit and reinstall it. The wires will be quite small gauge so I’m not sure I want to fiddle with that.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Signature 8290BS, Reese Revolution pinbox and B&W Patriot 18K hitch
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73, w/ snow plow & camper pkgs.
2011 Rockwood Signature 8293SS (2015 - 2018)
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:45 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 19
So, I managed to get about 1/2 the wire pushed back into the wall. At that point it got tough so I stopped. with 1/2 the wire, I'm able to get the camera on without pushing and shoving to get the screws in. I have a '20 Geo Pro with the "solid" walls. I assume the hole they cut in the foam is preventing me from fitting all the wire back in there.

BUT, as I put it back, what I feared would happen, happened. The microscopic bottom screws no longer had any bite; were stripped. I put a few dabs of goop in the screw holes which, once dry should hold it firm, I hope. . I could get some bigger screws and self-tap that back into the wall - but, I'll hold off on that until I have an issue. I will be keeping a close eye on it at each stop to make sure it's staying firm and I don't lose it. Although, the display in the cab would go wild if it suddenly fell off and dangled from the wire.
Dragon1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 12:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 847
just cut/splice the wires, keeping track of polarity. It's only 12v so you can use butt connectors, cut to length, strip and crimp. Easy peasy.
nayther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 12:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan-OH View Post
Forgot to mention; try to keep the connector from the trailer side where you can get to it. You don't want it to accidentally fall to where you can't get to it.



You might also wrap the connection with electrical tape to help keep it from separating. I also tied a piece of nylon string to it and left it outside the hole behind the camera in case it would try to drop into the wall.
campers302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:43 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Todzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Henrietta TX
Posts: 4
So our unit came prewired for the furrion camera. Only issue is the lights have to be on to power the camera. It's not a big issue just wondering if this was the correct way. I think it would be wired directly.
Todzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:12 AM   #10
Member
 
Greywater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 90
According to Furrion's FAQ page (https://furrion.com/pages/faq)


How is my coach wired from the RV manufacturer for the camera system?
• The most common wiring is to the marker lights for the observation systems and the back up lights for the back up systems
• Some manufacturers wire the camera to a constant hot line which will keep the camera powered at all times. To shut the camera off you will need to shut off the power to the coach
__________________
I havenít been everywhere, but itís on my list.
2021 Geo Pro G16BH
2012 Nissan Armada 4x4 Platinum
Greywater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:21 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todzilla View Post
So our unit came prewired for the furrion camera. Only issue is the lights have to be on to power the camera. It's not a big issue just wondering if this was the correct way. I think it would be wired directly.

That is exactly correct. It is always safer to have your lights on anyways.

You are gonna love the camera. Put my wife out back and most often I don't even need her there. Mostly she watches for branches and small items I might not see.
When passing I use the color grid to know when it is save to pull back into my lane when passing. Did I mention you're gonna love this camera?
campers302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:23 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan-OH View Post
Forgot to mention; try to keep the connector from the trailer side where you can get to it. You don't want it to accidentally fall to where you can't get to it.

Great suggestion. I tied a piece of nylon string to mine and put a piece of electrical tape over it so I can pull it out if it should fall.
campers302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 09:52 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Todzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Henrietta TX
Posts: 4
Thank you both for the reply. I'm sure the camera will be loved and I agree with the lights and safety.
Todzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2020, 06:32 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by campers302 View Post
That is exactly correct. It is always safer to have your lights on anyways.

You are gonna love the camera. Put my wife out back and most often I don't even need her there. Mostly she watches for branches and small items I might not see.
When passing I use the color grid to know when it is save to pull back into my lane when passing. Did I mention you're gonna love this camera?
Can you walk me thru setting up the Furion color grid view you mentioned? I know I scare my DW when I ask her " Is it safe to to change lanes?"
Famoussenior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2020, 09:48 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Famoussenior View Post
Can you walk me thru setting up the Furion color grid view you mentioned? I know I scare my DW when I ask her " Is it safe to to change lanes?"

This is from E-trailer.com and I believe it works on all models.
Be sure once you turn it on that you have you and your wife stand behind the trailer to make sure the lines are in a safe position for your unit.

DO NOT ASSUME THEY ARE CORRECT.


Expert Reply: Yes, you can put grid lines on the display of the Furrion Observation system part # FOS07TASF that you have. Hit the menu button and then press up or down to get to the display option and from there you'll see gridline option.




campers302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mount

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.