Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2016, 11:11 AM   #1
30+ year RV'er

Mod: Using existing Cable TV jack for Satellite

Over the years I have come across many campers that are frustrated because they have a portable satellite dish antenna, but their camper has only a “Cable TV” input located on the camper exterior. Of course, you cannot use a “Cable TV” jack for sending the signal from the portable satellite dish antenna to inside the camper – or can you? Well with a fairly simple modification you can maintain your cable-ready capability - while adding the ability to use it for a portable satellite dish antenna feed (just not at the same time). I am a retired RF professional, and offer this modification to this community because those that need it, really appreciate it! But no warranty or guarantees are expressed or implied, and any modification is done at your own risk.

As an overview, the frequencies used by a cable TV service are below 1 gigahertz (GHz). The frequencies used between the portable satellite dish antenna and the satellite receiver service are above 1 GHz. So what is needed is a device (called a diplexer) that separates the two services just before the coaxial cable from the outside connects to the antenna booster on the inside. Once separated, the cable service signal is reattached to the antenna booster and works as it did before, and the satellite dish antenna service goes to a new wall jack to which you can connect your satellite receiver. Result: if you plug in the park’s cable, it works just like it did before the modification; and, if you plug in your dish, it is available at the new jack (that you mark satellite). However, doing this requires removing/reinstalling the antenna booster, adding short cables, drilling a 5/8” hole, and installing a new coax jack plate. If you are not comfortable with this level of modification, stop here!