Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2023, 01:35 PM   #1
Wanderer

Yukon as Tow Vehicle

Hey everyone,
My wife and I are considering upgrading our trailer to a Grey Wolf 25RRT from our Popup and we need to start with the TV.

I'm a commercial photographer and admittedly don't think a straight up truck will do for the amount of equipment I haul around that needs to be out of the elements while traveling. (yes I know Bed Caps exist).

We are looking at a Yukon Denali, Yukon Denali XL or corresponding Tahoe/Suburban. Probably in the 2015-2020 year ranges or so.

Internet says 6.2L is capable of 8100lbs of towing, and the trailers GWVR is 7690 so we would be below that even if absolutely fully loaded out which I'm not sure we would ever do? (Dry weight is 5103 but I know not to really look at that number). I know payload is in question but It's ONLY me and my wife when we go traveling, although I could see occasionally our nephew (who is currently 8).

Is looking at a Yukon, or Suburban the wrong choice?
Reasons why?

We are located in Indiana, so mountains and whatnot are a non issue unless we get a hair up our bums and decide to drive cross country, which is unlikely currently.

***Edit we are looking at the possibility of a toy hauler for ease of taking kayaks and Bikes with us. Yes I know these could go on top of the TV or on the back of the Trailer****

Thoughts appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

Gone but not forgottenóó-
2021 Forest River Flagstaff Mac 206LTD
PhotoMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2023, 02:42 PM   #2
RV There Yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoMac View Post
Hey everyone,
My wife and I are considering upgrading our trailer to a Grey Wolf 25RRT from our Popup and we need to start with the TV.