Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2015, 11:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
Air Conditioner Hard Start Capacitor Suggestions

Any suggestions for a hard start capacitor for a 13,500 BTU air conditioner? Looking for the part needed and directions/ease of installation advice. Thanks in advance. Fly Navy!!!
__________________

__________________
2016 Roo19 Hybrid
2015 GMC Sierra 4x4 Crew Cab
OK3wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 11:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,306
This will do it...two wires
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1447475230.503197.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	94244


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 11:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,306
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1447475393.545828.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	94245


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 11:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,306
I can't see pic. SPP-6 on Amazon. $11.00 on prime


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 11:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
Thanks Iwanna. Easy to install?
__________________
2016 Roo19 Hybrid
2015 GMC Sierra 4x4 Crew Cab
OK3wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 12:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
I have a Duromax 4400 watt (3500 sustained) generator. Everything I've read leads me to believe this generator should power a 13,500 BTU AC, but my generator keeps kicking offline after a couple of minutes with the AC running and not much else. Will a hard start capacitor help keep the generator from kicking offline? I want to buy a Champion 75531i 3100 watt inverter generator to power my AC, but don't want to fork over the $$$ if it won't power my AC. Any suggestions will will be appreciated.
__________________
2016 Roo19 Hybrid
2015 GMC Sierra 4x4 Crew Cab
OK3wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 01:26 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by OK3wire View Post
I have a Duromax 4400 watt (3500 sustained) generator. Everything I've read leads me to believe this generator should power a 13,500 BTU AC, but my generator keeps kicking offline after a couple of minutes with the AC running and not much else. Will a hard start capacitor help keep the generator from kicking offline? I want to buy a Champion 75531i 3100 watt inverter generator to power my AC, but don't want to fork over the $$$ if it won't power my AC. Any suggestions will will be appreciated.
The receptacle your plugging into, does it say 120/240 volt ? 4 prong?

And yes a 3500 watt will work fine for a 30 amp camper as long it's 3500 running watts not surge watts.
A 3500 watt unit should put out around 29 amps unless it has the receptacle I've shown below.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 01:32 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Does it look like this?
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1447482751582.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	94247
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by OK3wire View Post
I have a Duromax 4400 watt (3500 sustained) generator. Everything I've read leads me to believe this generator should power a 13,500 BTU AC, but my generator keeps kicking offline after a couple of minutes with the AC running and not much else. Will a hard start capacitor help keep the generator from kicking offline? I want to buy a Champion 75531i 3100 watt inverter generator to power my AC, but don't want to fork over the $$$ if it won't power my AC. Any suggestions will will be appreciated.
I would look at the WEB SITE scooter wholesale, they have came out with a digital generator that they show for RV'S, that they say will run a 30 amp trailer that cost $1500.00....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by OK3wire View Post
I have a Duromax 4400 watt (3500 sustained) generator. Everything I've read leads me to believe this generator should power a 13,500 BTU AC, but my generator keeps kicking offline after a couple of minutes with the AC running and not much else. Will a hard start capacitor help keep the generator from kicking offline? I want to buy a Champion 75531i 3100 watt inverter generator to power my AC, but don't want to fork over the $$$ if it won't power my AC. Any suggestions will will be appreciated.
Like Turbs say's. The hard start will only help to kick it out of the start wind faster. If your still tripping after 2mins it"s not the hard start. but it couldn't hurt to put one on anyway.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:21 AM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,684
Is your water heater on electric or anything else running to use up power?
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:55 AM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
I suspect it's his generator that's the issue.
If in fact he has a receptacle such as my last picture it'll never work.
That receptacle is rated at 30 amp only on the 240v side and 15 amp at the 110v side.
I had the same issue with my 6875 watt generator untill I had it rewired.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 02:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 114
Plug in the coach to shore power without using the genny. If the A/C works properly don't even waste your time with a hard start kit. It's your genny she's not enough.
__________________
FOREST RIVER FW 8524RLWS
2010 FORD F 150 5.4
#1-18' Nomad #2- 20' Mallard #3- 27' Sunline #4- Four Winds C #5- Innsbruck 40' PARK # 6- 28' Amerilite #7- Forest River 26.5 FW ( 1st FW)
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:43 PM   #14
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 20,513
I can run my stock 13.5 Dometic, with my Honda 2000.
Was even able to run it for awhile, in Yellowstone.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:57 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Plug in the coach to shore power without using the genny. If the A/C works properly don't even waste your time with a hard start kit. It's your genny she's not enough.
It is not a waist of time or monies to put on a hard start as mentioned. It will help prolong your start winding. It one of the best and cheapest things you can install....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 04:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
NorSnrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 313
I just installed hard start on both of my ACs and had one on my old camper. On the old camper I had a harbor freight generator noisy but works well. and ran my 1300 BTU ac. I am hoping it will run 1 of my 1500 BTU ac
NorSnrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 05:08 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 3,306
My recent write-up on hard start cap and 2500 watt genny might give you some hints

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...nit-94386.html
__________________
Too much of anything is bad, but too much good whiskey is barely enough. Mark Twain



2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4 TST TPMS
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 06:21 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
It is not a waist of time or monies to put on a hard start as mentioned. It will help prolong your start winding. It one of the best and cheapest things you can install....
" In the HVAC field 45 years . It is a waste. If it works on shore /land line it should work from proper Generator. "
__________________
FOREST RIVER FW 8524RLWS
2010 FORD F 150 5.4
#1-18' Nomad #2- 20' Mallard #3- 27' Sunline #4- Four Winds C #5- Innsbruck 40' PARK # 6- 28' Amerilite #7- Forest River 26.5 FW ( 1st FW)
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:28 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
I would look at the WEB SITE scooter wholesale, they have came out with a digital generator that they show for RV'S, that they say will run a 30 amp trailer that cost $1500.00....
Could you post the link for that website? Can't find any info with a search. Thanks!
jimc51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 09:46 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
Turbs,

Thank you for the reply. Yes, my generator has a 4 prong plug exactly the same as the picture you posted. I have two identical generators and both of them kick offline after a couple of minutes, even if nothing else in the RV is powered up at the same time ( water heater, fridge, lights, etc.). I figure it's the type of generator I have since I've tried both of them and each one kicks offline. I want to purchase the Champion 75531i 3100 watt inverter generator to run my AC while dry camping. Do you think this model will handle the load? http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...dp_o_pd_nS_ttl
__________________

__________________
2016 Roo19 Hybrid
2015 GMC Sierra 4x4 Crew Cab
OK3wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


×