Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-03-2009, 12:20 PM   #1

Bunk end water fix...cheap!

I am a machine designer living in Dover, NH. I happen to be on shutdown this week and spent some time thinking about the lousy seals that all manufacturers use for their tent ends on hybrid TTs. Actually the seals are OK its the surfaces they mate to that are far too irregular to give the seal a chance to work. Then there's the issue (with Rockwood at least) of putting poorly installed screw heads right under the sealing surface. This is a two part fix and it will stand up to a hurricane. First put caulk (white silicone) on your finger and fill every screw head where the screw driver tip goes and under every screw head to completely fill any voids then wipe them off with your finger in the direction of the seal. I have attached a link to my photo gallery that shows everything I'm describing. Now go to home depot and for $7 get two 10' lengths of 2" SCH 40 PVC pipe. I spent a fair amount if time with my CAD program optimizing the pipe size and angle of cut to get the best water shedding effect. What I have done in essence is slice a chunk out of a 90" long PVC pipe so that it hangs from the gutter over the bunk end door. The chunk I removed is 1/4 or 90 degrees of the pipe (see photos). The effect this has is that all water now either goes into the gutter or off the front of the pipe without any chance of getting to the top horizontal seal. I don't care how careful you are at closing those ends, THEY WILL LEAK! The water on the top edge just doesn't go off either end it seeps past screw heads and irregularities in the paint and welds and ends up on top of the main inner seal where it finds its way to the tent material and bunk end where it rots the wood. We had a good rain storm last week but not anything serious. The next day I stood on a ladder and dried up the exterior water f