Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-17-2011, 12:51 PM   #1

Fill up fresh water tank, drive around the block and it then reads 1/3 full???

2011 26BH Coachman Catalina.
Filled up for first voyage last night for today.
Water flowed out of overflow clear drop down tube in between the wheels once it seemed full.
Opened faucets to get air out.
Flushed toilet enough to get a clean pack in the black water tank.

Then Fresh showed only 1/3 full on the wall gauge.

Newbie here, have not even taken it out yet, well, will in 5 hours.

Thoughts? Advice?

I did a search and found that some say the rocking and rolling of the trailer will dump a good amount of fresh water out the overflow tube in travel. I only went around the block. I don't see how I could have lost the water that fast nor did I or my wife see a water trail on the street.
Soooo, I don't think that is it, but again, newbie and the instruction manual is less than desireable when looking at troubleshooting things like this.

And no, I can't see the tank due to a sheeting to keep heat in and out of the bottom of the TT. Insulation and sealed so to speak.

Oh, one more, how do I know if the water made it into the 6 gallon hot water tank? There are no turn on/open valves anywhere I can find. Tank is 40 gallons plus 6 extra for the hot water so technically should have 46 gallons fresh on board.
The manual says DO NOT TURN ON WATER HEATER UNLESS YOU KNOW THERE IS WATER IN IT. So how do I know is the burning question???

And help is much appreciated!!! We are going to a spot that does not have water so I need as much as possible for the weekend.

Thank you and Happy Father's Day!
Old 06-18-2011, 11:09 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzron View Post
Water flowed out of overflow clear drop down tube in between the wheels once it seemed full.

Thoughts? Advice?