Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-31-2013, 11:50 AM   #1

Propane shut off when fueling

I know it is important to shut off the propane when fueling but have a question about the easiest method. Can I just close the valves on the tanks and then open them again when finished or is it necessary to go in the camper and turn off the fridge? As you might suspect I am new at this.
Cheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 12:16 PM   #2

I would recomend just shutting off the fridge. By turning it to off, you extinguish the flame. Then when your done refueling, pull forward to a parking spot or just out of the way and fire it back up. Wait to ensure it starts, then enjoy your tirp!!
Old 05-31-2013, 12:20 PM   #3
Berkshire 390QS

We just make sure everything is off to include furance, fridge and hot water heater. Only thing we travel with that's on anyway is the fridge and just to easy to push the on/off button.
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 12:56 PM   #4

What about for a PUP, where the fridge can be left on, but there is no easy access to it to turn on/off during fill ups?
CampinDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 12:59 PM   #5
Always Learning

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorhead1250 View Post
I would recomend just shutting off the fridge. By turning it to off, you extinguish the flame. Then when your done refueling, pull forward to a parking spot or just out of the way and fire it back up. Wait to ensure it starts, then enjoy your tirp!!
I wish it was that easy for me - I can't get to my fridge without sliding my slideout a bit (because I try not to step on that raised/unsupported slide floor unless I *have* to).

BUT- I also have a diesel and don't turn off propane or turn off my fridge.
Old 05-31-2013, 01:00 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post