Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-03-2015, 06:54 AM   #1

Rockwood 1640: furnace won't start

I'm a newbie at this. Bought a 2009 Rockwood 1640 Ltd that looks like it just came out of the showroom - kept in a garage and is immaculate. But I can't start the furnace. Have checked fuses, LP, and everything looks in order. One of the wires, a thin red one, in the battery box was disconnected, and I connected it to one of the silver little joined boxes that are on the positive terminal. Still no furnace. When I turn on the thermostat, there is no sound whatsoever, nothing happens. I know LP is working because the refrigerator and grill start. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
onehorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 07:11 AM   #2

there is a breaker under the front cover of the furnace have you checked it to see if it is on? I would turn that off on mine to make sure it would not start by accident.

Current: 2019 Sunseeker 2290S
Previous (2012-2016): 2012 Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe, 2 Mtn. Bikes & 4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 07:15 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Vibe View Post
there is a breaker under the front cover of the furnace have you checked it to see if it is on? I would turn that off on mine to make sure it would not start by accident.
Thanks for the idea, but there is no breaker where you indicated and non listed on the parts page of the manual. All breakers and fuses in the converter are good.
The furnace in made by the Suburban Manufacturing Co.; it is model NT-16SE
Old 09-03-2015, 07:27 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Do you have power to it?

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 08:19 PM   #5

Not AC, as I thought it should work with the deep cycle battery for power.