Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2020, 01:09 PM   #1

Black water procedure

Can someone walk me through the procedure with the black water at the end of a trip with a pop up (I’m a newbie)?

I have a HW276. I understand how to dump the tanks at the campsite, black first, then gray, but once the tank is empty, is that all good for storing it for a few weeks or do you want to pop it up once you’re back home and put some water with tank deodorant in there as well before storing it?

Thanks!
WISAZ13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 01:29 PM   #2
RV There Yet?

Im assuming that you dont have a cassette tank but onboard tanks. your tank will have a vent on it. you dont have to do anything else besides dumping the black, then the grey. some people have a tank flush that you can connect a hose to and flush the tank a bit. not necessary, but helpful. no need to add water and chemical back to the tank for storage.

if you DO have a cassette, dump, rinse, repeat until clean. again, no chemical needed for storage.
Old 06-10-2020, 01:45 PM   #3

After dumping both tanks in my 276.....I would add some water to the black and treatment(if still at the site).
bwag1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 03:47 PM   #4
Just as confused as you

I may be misinformed but I've never heard of a popup with either a black water or grey water tank. If you have a toilet it is a cassette style.
Camping since 1989, Seasonal since 2000.
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 03:56 PM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper View Post
I may be misinformed but I've never heard of a popup with either a black water or grey water tank. If you have a toilet it is a cassette style.
Here's what the specs say for the Rockwood HW276 Pop-Up...

Holding Tanks