RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 07-06-2017, 05:23 PM   #1

Gas power my frig

It seems obvious, but it's my first time. How do I switch from electric to gas to power my frig in my Rockwood Premiere 2516g? There's an on/off switch behind the panel outside, a dual for temp (I think) and an ignition switch. I can travel and keep things cold, correct?
Thanks in advance!
Georgia
kelleyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 05:30 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by kelleyg View Post
It seems obvious, but it's my first time. How do I switch from electric to gas to power my frig in my Rockwood Premiere 2516g? There's an on/off switch behind the panel outside, a dual for temp (I think) and an ignition switch. I can travel and keep things cold, correct?
Thanks in advance!
Georgia
Depending on the fridge, most have a panel at the top of the fridge where you can designate lp gas (when on the road) or electricity when you have hook ups. Of course, you'll want to have your lp tank valve open.
Schvarak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 02:53 AM   #3

Here is a article on using your fridge while towing. You do not want to use propane:
http://www.robertssales.com/articles...ps_tricks.html
hmj176ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 04:33 AM   #4
World Wide Wanderer

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmj176ltd View Post
Here is a article on using your fridge while towing. You do not want to use propane:
Tips and Tricks for Camping Trailers | Roberts Sales - Denver, Colorado
And people should not drive Chevy trucks...

There is nothing wrong with using LP when traveling to keep the fridge cold IF proper precautions are taken, and the fridge and RV are properly configured for it. If you have the 12 volt option that would be a better choice.

Aaron

2016 Coachmen Concord 300DS
2015 Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 05:49 AM   #5