Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-19-2020, 09:43 AM   #1

Hot water heater suggestions

Hi there. I have a 2020 forest river rockwood 1640esp. It does not have a water heater on it. Any suggestions on what to get and maybe where to install it? I’m new to the camper world so trying to learn and set up my trailer the best way I can. Would be nice to have some hot water available at times.

Thank you,
Lpaine1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 10:15 AM   #2

I don't have any personal experience with any particular brand but you could search the web for 'portable water heater' and see where it takes you.
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 10:50 AM   #3

Thanks. I will most def research !
Old 09-19-2020, 04:09 PM   #4

In looking up the Rockwood 1640esp pop-up, I see that the water heater/outside shower was an option. Easiest (which is not going to be easy) would be to get the package from your dealer or direct from Rockwell. And take some measurements on where the factory option is installed (I assume under the pull-out gaucho).

Does your pop-up already have a water tank, inside sink, and water pump? If not, you will need those items as well.

The normal water heater is a propane-only 6 gal tank. The air intake and exhaust is located on the left side wall of the camper and is attached directly to the water heater. Combustion and exhaust air must be completely isolated from the inside of the camper. The water heater needs a propane line and 12V electric, with a small operator's panel on the front of the seat of the gaucho. Plumbing means bringing a supply line from after the water pump and filter, installing a bypass for winterization, and hot water lines to the sink and outside shower. You must also install a hot water low point drain next to the cold water low point drain.