Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-19-2016, 10:33 AM   #1

How to charge PUP battery using generator

Okay, I know I'll probably get "yelled" at for asking a question that's been asked before, but I've searched the forum and haven't found exactly what I'm looking for so I thought I'd be brave... My question is super simple (and keep in mind please I'm a newbie to the PUP world!) - we have a Rockwood 2516G popup and are going camping this weekend where the temps are going to be near freezing (we've already drained and winterized our water supply so no worries on that). Anyway, we're purchasing a Honda 2000 generator (not just for the PUP but for home use too) and my question is - how do we charge the battery from the generator? Do we need to buy special cables to do this? Or do you plug the pigtail directly into the generator? Thanks in advance for your help!!!
DianaWayneScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 12:17 PM   #2
Site Team

The "pigtail" is called a shore cord.
Simply plug the shore cord into the outlet on the Honda.
You'll need a 30 to 15 amp adapter. Walmart has them.

Every RV comes with a converter that recharges the battery while plugged into power.

Be sure to start the Honda before plugging the shore cord in.
DON'T use the the 12v recharging cables, they are the last choice for recharging. They will take a much longer time to recharge, than just plugging in the shore cord.

We own a Honda 2000i and have been recharging our batteries with it for 10 years.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 12:32 PM   #3