Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2017, 09:12 PM   #1

How to tell if Rockwood 1640ltd has brakes and other options?

Hello!

I am new to the world of pop ups from tent camping.

How can I tell if a 2014 Rockwood 1640ltd has trailer brakes? Can I search with the serial number to see all the options this specific trailer has?

The trailer has a 7 pole connector. But that could be to power the fridge?

My tow vehicle has a 4 pole connector so I will need some sort of adapter to connect. I assume what I purchase depends on if the trailer has brakes.

Thanks for the help!
Spaceace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 02:32 AM   #2
Site Team

If it has a 7 pin connector, it likely has electric brakes.
Your vehicle will need to be wired for a 7 pin connector and a brake controller and a brake controller installed.

The 7 pin connector has nothing to do with running the fridge on DC. The DC side of the fridge runs on the trailer's battery. The 7 pin connector will provide a trickle charge to the battery while driving.

It sounds like it doesn't have the factory tow package.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 03:13 AM   #3

If all you have is a 4 pin, your truck needs a brake controller. An adapter ain't gonna do it.

In answer to the first question, poke your head under and look for wires going to the axles maybe. Though like bikendan said, if it's 7 pin, it likely has brakes. According to this the ltd does. http://www.ralphsrvcenter.com/new_ve...93715&CatDesc=

If I were buying a used trailer, I'd hook the 7 pin up and manually operate the brake controller. Use the seller's tv if necessary. Make sure they actually work.

2017 Heritage Glen 368RLHBK Limited