Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2021, 06:55 AM   #1

Is it my Converter or fuse panel?

Hello! I'm brand new to camper ownership. We bought a 2016 Clipper Classic 1285sst pop-up from friends at church. So far, we love it, but ran into some random trouble on our first trip.
Just sitting at night, all of a sudden all of my power went out. The small fan plugged in to AC, a small alarm clock on another AC receptacle, my 1 overhead DC light that was on, and the overhead vent fan.
Nobody else around me lost power. I turned off my 30a main inside, then reset the breaker at the box. None of my breakers were tripped. I checked all fuses at the converter panel and they were all good to.
After turning back on, the AC is fine. The overheads, radio, and toilet still don't work though. Even more strange is that the water pump is working fine (only DC run appliance that's working)!

I checked the overhead wiring that runs up the support channel and it seems fine. Fuse at the vent fan is fine.
I noticed on the inverter panel that when I pulled the pump fuse to check, the continuity light came on which is expected. But none of the other fuse ports lights worked.

All of this leads me to believe I have an issue with that panel or the converter.
Any thoughts or help is appreciated!
Karlglen101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2021, 07:02 AM   #2

welcome to the forum its a great place to get your questions answered. First are you sure its an inverter and not a converter? makes a difference we have a very knowledgable group of popup folks on the forum I'm sure they can figure out your problem.
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2021, 07:28 AM   #3

Thanks! You're correct, it's a converter. That's my fault! I don't see the edit thread option to update the subject, but I'll figure it out!