Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2016, 08:19 PM   #1

new to us 2012 Forest River M-206?

Hi,

Total noob here seeking random repair/ upgrade advice. My wife and I have been wanting to stick our toes in the escape pod adventure club and now have the option to buy this camper for 2k from a family friend. Seems like a good price point to begin the experiment and solid price compared to NADA guide of 3-4k. We were able to stay in it last night pre-purchase with our 3 yr old. The camper was towed from it's old home and hastily set up on (non level) ground. Seems mostly in good condition. Did not leak having sat in the rain for a couple days. Fantastic Fan, 3 way fridge, lights etc. all working, powered by extension cord. Did not try propane at all as the bottle was empty.

Issues for us to solve if we move on it:

1. The bolt for the manual crank appears to be broken off. There is an electric winch. How bad is this?

2. The door isn't quite making it to a solid fit at the top (gap of 1/4" with hinged metal piece connected to Phillips head screws). Also, the top panel will not latch if you are trying to slide it up to make a solid door.

3. The outside panel to the back of the fridge control area is missing. Where to get one and how keep it on?

4. Pretty uncomfortable bouncy issues when any of us shifted around in the night.

5. Uncomfortable, thin mattresses plus bounce had the wife and I up all night while our toddler slept almost 12 hrs straight! Level ground plus extra equipment?

6. Dead battery. If we are at campsites with power do we need to bother with this?

7. Canvas looks good but has some small mildew looking dots here and there outside. How to clean, vinegar or store bought stuff ?