Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-01-2011, 12:18 PM   #1

Question Leaving dogs in the RV

hi there, I am a newbie to the whole RV thing...2011 is my rookie season and would like some guidance please.

I will be travelling with my two bassets and not really clear what the "rules" are in regards to leaving your dogs in the RV while you're away.

If I am at a campsite - fully hooked up - with AC on (where needed) is it okay to leave your pets in your unit (me - class ""C") while you are away shopping per say ?

Is it fairly common for campsites to have doggie daycare that can look after your dogs if away from your unit ?

Any other feedback / thoughts would be most appreciated.

thanks
Houndmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:42 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

I leave mine in the camper. I leave him at home for up to 8 hours, but try to limit the time alone in the camper to 4 hours or so.

Maybe limit the time alone over the 1st trip or 2, to get them used to the camper.

If you dogs are barkers, then that is a whole different ball game.

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 03:06 PM   #3
Villa Estate 392FLFB

we leave ours in the camper in a kennel. keeps him from making accidents on the "expensive" carpets. lol
Old 02-01-2011, 04:30 PM   #4

We leave our Pugs in the RV with the a/c on and Tv set on animal planet.
ravenmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 04:43 PM   #5
CampeRooo

Rule of thumb: