Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-09-2012, 07:41 AM   #1

Newbie: Dump tanks and a leaky water pipe

Hi there,

Just joined this forum, hopefully I will be able to contribute as well as take advice from you guys!

Im new to 5th wheel camping, myself and my wife just got a 2007 Sabre 30RES, its in very good shape but there is always room for improvements! We also have a 2003 Silverado 2500HD to tow with. Were in the UK where 5th wheels are not that common, although there are a number fo dealers now springing up and at least one manufacturer too, so I think it will get more popular in the near future.

OK, onto my reason for posting. We just had our first weekend away with the setup, was a great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed getting used to everything and having a real 'home from home'.

Just as we were about to leave I noticed that the bathroom sink had some water in it even though the plug was pulled. Similary the shower had some water remaining. I assumed the grey tank needed emptying so i did that, but it didnt cure the problem. Next I filled the bathroom sink with water and pulled the plug - it mostly went into the shower base... So now I figure there is a blockage somewhere in the pipe which connects the shower and sink drains (can be seen from the pass through locker). I broke the seal on one of these pipes to drain away the water and get access to the pipe but then we had to leave (had to get back for my wife to go to work). Trailer is still at the campsite. I couldnt see where this pipe went down into. It disappears through the floor of the pass through locker but I couldnt see where to. Is that where the grey tank is situated? Or is there a 90 degree fitting and the tank is actually further rearwards?