Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2022, 06:21 PM   #1

Palomino River Ranch - water related questions

Hello all. Newbie here. My wife and I purchased a River Ranch earlier this year and have now used it for 4 weekend trips. We are fortunate that all systens have worked perfectly and we have had absolutely no issues - although I have a few questions.

First, I was crawling around underneath the trailer last weekend and noticed a drain valve that I had not previously seen. The valve in question is not visible from the side of the trailer as it is behind the wheels, but looks identical to the fresh water drain. While under the trailer, I opened it slightly - there was a fair amount of pressure and what came out appeared to be antifreeze, perhaps watered down. I shut the valve and decided I would deal with it later. Heading home the next day, I emptied the black and grey tanks, and the fresh water tank and returned the trailer to our storage lot where I crawled under and opened the valve in question. There was still a bit of pressure, and probably about a quart or slightly more of the water/antifreeze came out. Any idea of what this valve is for?

Second, I am supposed to have a 75 gallon fresh water tank. But the last two times I filled it with 65 to 68 gallons of water (i have one of those meters attached to the fill hose, which seems accurate per my tests) and yet when I was done a significant amount of water flowed out of the overfill release valve on the top of the tank. In both cases I had emptied the freshwater tank at the end of our prior use using the fresh water drain valve. Is the tank smaller than 75 gals or am I doing something wrong?

Any help would be appreciated.
GDIET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 06:30 PM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDIET View Post