Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2019, 04:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 41
Second AC Question

My Puma XLE 2019 31BHSC has 50 amp service, is prewired for a second AC, but only comes with one 13.5k BTU unit.

I was thinking of adding the second unit right off the bat. The dealer told me it would go where the skylight in the master bedroom is now.

How does a second unit work with the first unit? Do they both push air into the same ducts so they complement each other? Is it very noisy in the enclosed space of a master bedroom?

The price for the second unit plus installation is $1,800 and change even though it is prewired and braced. Would I be better off upgrading the main unit to 15k BTU and waiting on the second unit? I'm just sticking to New England this summer, but last summer there was a heat wave every week long trip we took. We were in a 22' Bullet with two kids and a dog. I guess that explains the new TT!
__________________

ScenicView is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 05:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,785
Should of ordered the unit with two units. prob would of been a minimum charge new. now that you own the unit either way will be pricey. Yes the share the same duct work and yes its noisy in the bedroom. I run both during the heat of the day when needed and only run the living room one after dark once cooled off. Will need to shop for 50 amp camp sites if wanting to run both units. Most campgrounds I stay at only have 30 amp service.
__________________

Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 06:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 1,402
Your dealer did you a disservice selling you a 35í trailer with 50% of recommended air conditioning. Generally a second unit is less then a grand. $1800 to install one now sounds about right.

A 15,000 unit is only about 10% more ac. A second unit will improve your situation. If you are careful you can run two on 30 amp service.

Cooling a trailer in Kansas on a 105 degree day takes two 15,000 units working hard. Our two units worked hard from 5pm to 10:00 pm to cool our fiver down. We went out to dinner.

Noise in the bedroom is an issue. Depending on weather you might be able to turn one off. Maybe not. We were fortunate to be able to get the whisper quiet units. I doubt you have that option.

Earplugs? You do get used to it eventually.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 07:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,307
Lol. These guys are right if it gets above 85 or so. My first unit had one 15k unit and on a 100 degree Texas summer it was a challenge. I swore the next would have two....and it does.

Couple things I have figured out. Most of the places we stay are 30 amps(COE and state parks and such) some do, but not many. I was told you can use a cheater adapter to tie in the 30 and 15 amp plugs...only 2 times I have tried it the GFCIs didnít play nice in the sandbox.

The next thing is rolling thunder on the BR unducted unit. Cool? Yes... DW and me snore so I am used to noise.

I pretty sure you can buy a unit for $7-800 with the adapter stuff. What I have read the getting the unit to the roof is the hard part.

I will try and post a link.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 07:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,307
One

Puma 2nd A/C Addition
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...d.php?t=181127
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 07:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,307
Two


Adding 2nd 15,000 BTU AC????
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...d.php?t=153257
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 04:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwannacamp View Post
Great links. Thanks!
ScenicView is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 10:43 AM   #8
Member
 
RAMMIN_TIME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwannacamp View Post


This was my post. I purchased from Dyers Online for a great deal. For everything it was around $600 shipped to my house. I chose the non-ducted because I didnít want to deal with the ducts. Overall it was an easy experience. The main unit is 15k and this one is 13,5k.
RAMMIN_TIME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 09:35 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwannacamp View Post
Lol. These guys are right if it gets above 85 or so. My first unit had one 15k unit and on a 100 degree Texas summer it was a challenge. I swore the next would have two....and it does.

Couple things I have figured out. Most of the places we stay are 30 amps(COE and state parks and such) some do, but not many. I was told you can use a cheater adapter to tie in the 30 and 15 amp plugs...only 2 times I have tried it the GFCIs didnít play nice in the sandbox.

The next thing is rolling thunder on the BR unducted unit. Cool? Yes... DW and me snore so I am used to noise.

I pretty sure you can buy a unit for $7-800 with the adapter stuff. What I have read the getting the unit to the roof is the hard part.

I will try and post a link.
Good info in your reply. My question is since I have the 50A down to a three prong 120v 15-20A plug, will that work with the 30A services usually available at RV parks? Thanks.
flyboy43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 09:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy43 View Post
Good info in your reply. My question is since I have the 50A down to a three prong 120v 15-20A plug, will that work with the 30A services usually available at RV parks? Thanks.
If you mean can you use both A/Cs?
Sorry to say most likely not. Some say you can if you install a couple of helpers to the units. If you use LP for the reefer and the WH you can MAYBE get by with it. Leave the micro off and no hair dryers when both A/Cs are on.
Just remember... under full load my converter will pull 10 amps.
Do you have an EMS? You can monitor the amperage if you do.

Short story? Prolly not a good idea.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 10:05 AM   #11
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy43 View Post
Good info in your reply. My question is since I have the 50A down to a three prong 120v 15-20A plug, will that work with the 30A services usually available at RV parks? Thanks.
No, you will not be able to use both A/Cs on 30 amp unless you also have a power management system that cycles between the units or understand current draws and how to manage them.

Also if you are adapting your 50a down to 15a/20a with an adapter, you really should only go 50a to 30a when using A/C. Maybe you do have a 50a to 30a and then to a 15a/20a but at a 30a site you don't want to adapt down further than the 30a. While an A/C unit can be run on 15a, you can't run much else, especially if using an extension cord.

30a to 50a


30a to 15a/20a


And as mentioned, the adapters that let you plug into BOTH the 30a receptacle and the 15a/20a receptacle usually trip a GFCI and most warn they will right on them.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 10:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 1,402
We go to state parks all the time with 30.amp service.

Our trailer is wired for 50 amps/ two circuits equaling 100 total.

We use a 30 to 50 amp dogbone as shown.

As you have no load shedding devices you are it!

We hook our ems up to the dogbone. Then the 50 amp wire to the trailer.

You can monitor each circuit. Our fiver is set up with gas water heater, stove, fridge.

So when we power up it is one ac, and the converter to charge the batteries. When the converter fan shuts off we know it is in the mid mode. Not a lot of amp draw. Then my load shedding wife can use one high load additional device.

Ac or dryer or convection oven. Sometime she gets away with three. Starting up the ac units are the issue. At night she turns the fridge to electric. Living room ac off. Dryer on!

In cold temps, the same deal with the fireplace and second electric heater in the bedroom. Colorado mountains can get cold.

Works for us.

Love state and COE campgrounds with 30 amp service.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 10:35 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
No, you will not be able to use both A/Cs on 30 amp unless you also have a power management system that cycles between the units or understand current draws and how to manage them.

Also if you are adapting your 50a down to 15a/20a with an adapter, you really should only go 50a to 30a when using A/C. Maybe you do have a 50a to 30a and then to a 15a/20a but at a 30a site you don't want to adapt down further than the 30a. While an A/C unit can be run on 15a, you can't run much else, especially if using an extension cord.

30a to 50a


30a to 15a/20a


And as mentioned, the adapters that let you plug into BOTH the 30a receptacle and the 15a/20a receptacle usually trip a GFCI and most warn they will right on them.
Thanks - that info is very helpful. And I appreciate your rapid reply.
flyboy43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 02:34 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
I put in a new Dometic 13500 Brisk 2 in our Columbus 5th wheel. Its an easy install if your already wired. Price I paid for the new unit was $551.00 from www.rvpartscountry.com
__________________

birchcrossing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


×