Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2019, 04:01 PM   #1

Solaire 317BHSK

Newbie here, so be kind

I am purchasing a Solaire UltraLite 317BHSK. Just wondering what others experiences are with this model.

Anything I should look to add on?

Any do's or dont's?

Thanks in advance.
mriguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 10:52 PM   #2

I have a 2017 317BHSK GT3.

We had a number of issues in the 1st year which resulted in it spending a total of 9 months in the shop. Including 1 trip back to the assembly plant.

That is not too discourage you. Palomino stood behind their product and got us right.

If yours has the residential refrigerator (electric only) I'd recommend adding a 2nd battery. We did a 6hr (1 way) trip and my single battery was struggling to keep up. The rear fridge does not run off the inverter (at least mine doesn't).

I'd also recommend upgrading to 30lbs propane tanks of it comes with 20s. Water heater and cooking with 2 teenagers is pretty taxing.

The bunk room should hold a 32" tv, but ours had the "stud" offset, requiring me to build an "I" frame to mount the tv mount. Maybe I got the wrong mount.

Our 1st step on the ladder is really high. I got a 4 foot extension that straps to the 1st rung.

Overall, we love the layout and the room it provides. The only other item I would like to be an option is a carrier at the rear bumper. The trailer pulls nicely behind my '06 F250 with Equalizer 4way sway/LL system.

Happy glamping!
Old 04-08-2019, 03:17 PM   #3

Thank you for the great feedback.

A couple f/u ?'s if you dont mind.

1. What were the issues it went back to the shop so I can evaluate before we take off the lot?

2. Does the TV in the bunk room fit without a mount? and most likely if I got a mount to deal with an offset stud. Should that work? We already have a 32" to go back there and just want to make sure it fits.