Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2022, 03:33 PM   #1

Suburban Heater Problem Columbus 389FL

I'm new to the forum.
We have a 2018Columbus 389FL and we are having problems with our Suburban SFV-35Q heater. I am a HVAC Tech. I'm relatively sure it's the igniter or gas valve. It goes thru the 3 trial sequences to light the burner then locks out and shuts off after the 3 minute cycle. Does anyone know how to access the rear side of the heater on this particular model to unhook the ducts? The way this model (Fifth Wheel) is built it looks a little tricky. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I think I need to heater thru the side of the compartment where the auto-leveling control is located and I may need to cut the wall panel.
runningbubba19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2022, 03:48 PM   #2

Remove igniter and use emery cloth or coarse sandpaper to clean both tips first.
Capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2022, 04:28 PM   #3

Suburban Heater Problem Columbus 389FL

Thanks for the Info. I know how to clean the igniter.
I need info on removing the heating unit from the fifth wheel
Old 03-23-2022, 07:19 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capacitor View Post
Remove igniter and use emery cloth or coarse sandpaper to clean both tips first.
I figured out how to remove heater from fifth wheel.
I also noticed that when the heater comes on that it goes thru the 15 second purge and 7-8 second igniting attempt. I can hear the relay kick in on each of the 3 attempts but I don't smell any propane at the burner air exhaust outlet. Could the gas valve or the relay on the board be defective?
Old 03-23-2022, 08:18 PM   #5
2006 Tundra Surveyor 241

Do you hear the electronic ignighter clicking or just the relay click?
rwhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2022, 08:48 PM   #6