Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2018, 06:25 PM   #1

trailer hit cab of truck on a turn

ok im new to the fifth wheel life, but i was driving around the back of barn and turned to the right, not at a full cut, and the trailer nose hit my cab. bent the cab and cracked the nose on the trailer. my question is why? i have a 373QSI toy hauler, and a 2017 f250 truck. too back to dealer there was another set of hole on my hitch so they moved it back to them and today i took both back and still couldnt get a full turn with out trailer coming to hit truck. shouldnt you be able to turn fully? i know if you back up you can jack knife them. i need to make this turn to get out of my driveway. i have a 6'9" box on the truck.

thanks.
Old 07-09-2018, 06:28 PM   #2

If you're going to put a 5er on a short bed I really recommend a slider hitch!
jake wolfpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:29 PM   #3
Who Dares, Wins

Depends on your truck and depends on the nose of the camper. I can get a 90 on my truck with a short bed and not hit. But my corners are pretty clipped on the camper. Do you have a slider hitch. This is why they make them.. For us short bed trucks. I have one, just do not need it.. Yet.

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 Chevy HD D-Max
2022 Impression 315MB
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:31 PM   #4
Who Dares, Wins

If the pics I am looking at online are for your model it does not seem to have clipped corners... A lot of camper there.. But my guess is the corners are full width so you need a slider if your gonna cut tight turns.

2015 Chevy HD D-Max
2022 Impression 315MB
Old 07-09-2018, 06:31 PM   #5

dealer told me that slide was not needed, i even told them i wanted one. said new trailers was set up for shortys. the set of holes they moved the hitch to was for the 5.5 beds???