Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-17-2015, 10:33 AM   #1

Question Recreation.gov and the games people play

This is my first year with the TT and I want to visit some of the very nice COE CG's in southern Illinois.I was hoping to take time off work for long weekends to increase my trips this year.

As I search for weekends to choose, I find that they are all booked with the exception of a few days in the middle of the week. I have considered the walk-up sites but hear that many folks hover around these waiting to claim them for friends. This makes it a cr#p shoot process that, I do not want to drive hours over and loose.

Some younger kids have told us about having parties where they get together with buddy's and at some witching hour begin making reservations, canceling them and re-making reservations until they reach the desired dates where they can all be together. I do not understand how this works but wonder, is this how it is done?

Have I stumbled onto a dirty little secret that nobody talks about? I am certain that this topic will generate some strong feelings on the subject but still want to hear how others reserve sites.

Am I relegated this year to driving to state parks and putting up some Barbie doll tent prior to the weekend I choose and paying for nights I am not even there?

Let me hear your methods and related stories to get me up to speed please...
Wobbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 10:55 AM   #2