Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Appliances and Electronics (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/)
-   -   TV Reception quit...help needed (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/tv-reception-quit-help-needed-126745.html)

yetavon 02-13-2017 03:32 PM

TV Reception quit...help needed
 
2 years without issue and I'm now ready to rip every bit of it out.
Suddenly no channels when we scan in 2 places we have always had service.
Yes the booster was on, check connections correct TV settings.
Get home and start testing....
Scan and get a group from one distant station (yes something) but none of what we have always had here at home.....Shut off the booster and lose it
separate TV no change....
Pull out the booster double check connections, some loose....no change....
Take the booster from our house and add in....NO CHANGE....
Now take a separate line from the antenna, thru our home antenna booster to the TV...........What
lose the original distant channels we had.... but picked up unwatchable snowy signals from the locals that we had fine before.....

Wiscampsin 02-13-2017 06:19 PM

Have you checked the connection to your antenna on the roof?

bob caldwell 02-13-2017 07:20 PM

TV into house....Any better?...No?...Toss TV...

bubbles 02-13-2017 07:32 PM

Just some clarity here. The booster is in the antenna. That "booster panel" only supplies the 12 volts needed for the antenna booster circuit. Haven't heard of any booster issues and the fact that you do get some channels with the booster on would indicate it is not the issue. However; you are dealing with electrical and anything is possible.

yetavon 02-14-2017 06:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob caldwell (Post 1420844)
TV into house....Any better?...No?...Toss TV...

Used another TV with the same results..

yetavon 02-14-2017 07:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bubbles (Post 1420852)
the fact that you do get some channels with the booster on would indicate it is not the issue. However; you are dealing with electrical and anything is possible.

Whats driving me nuts is the ONLY station we are getting is to far away from here to get with our home antenna, but we could NOT get this same station at our last campsite at half the distance.


WisCamper said ......Have you checked the connection to your antenna on the roof?
Ran a separate coax cable from the antenna to a separate external booster and lost the one channel we had.....

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 08:36 AM

What kind of antenna is on RV?

yetavon 02-14-2017 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob caldwell (Post 1421149)
What kind of antenna is on RV?

Its the Winegard Sensar III amplified..... fixing to tear into the roof boot connection.....hate opening sealed holes in my roof with rain on the way....

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 09:12 AM

When I first got this trailer, was having all kinds of problems like you.....So, I ended up locating the splitter, had to open up a hole on the inside of a cabinet....Not enough slack to pull it out, loose connections there.....Then ended up making up my own cables, as some wouldn't ohm out.....Bad ends...Also had to get rid of 90 degree cable connection on back of tv.....Very flustrating job...

bubbles 02-14-2017 09:22 AM

As said, the booster (amplifier) is in the antenna and it may be fried now.

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 09:23 AM

Never have had one apart to see how it's made.....

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 09:27 AM

If I were to replace antenna, I think I'd go with a Jack.....Uses the same mast...

Herk7769 02-14-2017 09:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yetavon (Post 1420636)
Take the booster from our house and add in....NO CHANGE....

Now take a separate line from the antenna, thru our home antenna booster to the TV...........

What booster are you talking about here?
This does not sound good at all. :eek:

When you pressed the power button on the wall plate, did the power light come on?

Sometimes corrosion on the coax connector at the roof antenna amplifier housing can prevent power from the wall plate switch from reaching it and degrades the signal coming down.

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 09:34 AM

Thinking might be converter thing that was needed when they switched to digital..,?

bubbles 02-14-2017 09:54 AM

The "converter thing" was for the TV (CRT type) not the antenna. Not needed with digital TV. No special TV antenna needed to receive digital broadcasts.

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 10:02 AM

OK....Just haven't seen a booster for a home antenna...

Mr. Dan 02-14-2017 10:08 AM

You wrote
Quote:

Originally Posted by yetavon (Post 1421123)
Used another TV with the same results..

but when bob wrote
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob caldwell (Post 1420844)
TV into house....Any better?...No?...Toss TV...

he meant to take the failed TV into the house and see if it would work in the house. If not, toss the TV. He didn't mean to take another TV and hook it to the same (possibly failed) connection.

We have some terminology issues here which makes it hard for us to help.

bob caldwell 02-14-2017 10:09 AM

It was late, and I'm old!.....lol

Herk7769 02-14-2017 10:15 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Bob, I assumed one of these:

bubbles 02-14-2017 10:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Dan (Post 1421217)
You wrote
but when bob wrote he meant to take the failed TV into the house and see if it would work in the house. If not, toss the TV. He didn't mean to take another TV and hook it to the same (possibly failed) connection.

If the TV from the house is a known good TV what's the difference?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.