Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Forester and Sunseeker (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   15k AC w heat pump? (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f15/15k-ac-w-heat-pump-147198.html)

Markiemark 10-26-2017 09:40 AM

15k AC w heat pump?
 
If a rig has the 15k AC with Heat Pump, does the heat also work off propane?

If not does that mean to run heat if not hooked up (boondocking), then generator has to run.

Thanks

TheWolfPaq82 10-26-2017 09:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Markiemark (Post 1656096)
If a rig has the 15k AC with Heat Pump, does the heat also work off propane?

If not does that mean to run heat if not hooked up (boondocking), then generator has to run.

Thanks

Just like the AC...those run on 120v systems (Gen needed). Heat pumps are like running an AC backwards...kinda. :D

sgtlm17 10-26-2017 10:00 AM

Your heat pump is electric and works through your AC unit. It will work fairly well when outside Temps are above 45 degrees. Your furnace is propane powered and will work as long as you have 12v power.

Markiemark 10-26-2017 10:18 AM

15k AC w heat pump?
 
Is There is still a propane furnace? Is the further question? Just confirming

sgtlm17 10-26-2017 10:20 AM

Yes a heat pump is an option on your ac unit. You should have a separate furnace that operates independently from your heat pump.

Markiemark 10-26-2017 10:29 AM

Thanks

Alan F 10-26-2017 12:40 PM

The heat from the heat pump runs off of electricity. It will heat only down to around 35į or so. Your furnace will work off of propane.

Walholler 10-26-2017 03:51 PM

What Dometic offers for their AC units is not a true heat pump, it is a wire coil that is heated by running 110V electricity through it and the heat is forced into the room with a fan. I believe this option can be purchased for around $70.00 on Ebay and fits the 15K unit for sure that has the ceiling controls. There may be other options that I am not aware of.

RamblerGuy 10-26-2017 04:07 PM

The Dometic 15k is a true heat pump, not an A/C with a heat strip. The compressor runs in both A/C or heat pump operation, and it produces about the same BTU output either way.

The heat pump works well down to about 40 F. Between 40 and about 30 F it has to defrost periodically. Below about 30 F the thermostat will run the propane furnace even if the thermostat is set for heat pump.

RamblerGuy 10-26-2017 04:11 PM

Also, be aware that the propane furnace has small ducts to the water pump/filter compartment and to the sewer drain compartment. This heats them and the tanks. The heat pump does not heat those components.

CaptnJohn 10-26-2017 04:36 PM

I never run the furnace until below 40. The fireplace 1st and the heat pump to supplement. If no 110 available I'll run the Big Buddy heater before the furnace to conserve batteries.

Wolverine 1945 10-27-2017 08:47 AM

Here is a stupid question,,,
How do a person know if they have a Heat Pump ???
Ok guys let me have it !!!
LOL !!!

Gumpster808 10-27-2017 08:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wolverine 1945 (Post 1656857)
Here is a stupid question,,,
How do a person know if they have a Heat Pump ???
Ok guys let me have it !!!
LOL !!!



Well easiest way is to try it [emoji3]

We were told during PDI / walkthrough that ours did not. On a whim I put the controller in heat pump and tried it - surprise it worked.

Of course they also said the water heater was propane only but I found the electric switch and breaker for that too.

RamblerGuy 10-27-2017 09:12 AM

1. You can check your model number on Dometic's Web site.

2. If the compressor is running when you have heat pump selected, you have a heat pump. It will sound (and vibrate!) just as it does on A/C.

Wolverine 1945 10-27-2017 09:19 AM

Thanks Guys !!!
That was my thought,,, I will try it next time I am in there !!!
I just thought it was a generic thermostat,,, that says Heat Pump !!!

Wolverine 1945 10-27-2017 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gumpster808 (Post 1656869)
Well easiest way is to try it [emoji3]

We were told during PDI / walkthrough that ours did not. On a whim I put the controller in heat pump and tried it - surprise it worked.

Of course they also said the water heater was propane only but I found the electric switch and breaker for that too.

Don't you just love the people the dealer's us for the PDI,,, some of them know less about RVs than we do !!!
The first TT we bought from our local dealer used service tech for walkthru !!
He knew the unit very well,,, when we bought our MH from a different dealer they used a semi retired guy that they had just hired,,, nice guy but had very little knowledge of the unit !!!
:signhavefun:

RamblerGuy 10-27-2017 09:31 AM

It may be a generic thermostat that says heat pump even if you don't have one. Maybe someone can tell us if they have different ones if equipped with heat pump or not.

The Dometic thermostat in our 2011 year model Sunseeker 3100 has Zone 1 and Zone 2, but that does nothing. The PDI tech said they used the same one on fifth wheels that came with two units.

Gumpster808 10-27-2017 09:31 AM

Oh yeah. Made them run everything including water. What really tipped me off was when the service tech they had do ours said Iíve been doing this 14 years and never turned on a water pump. I replied I donít care. Was Feb and already winterized so they sucked more pink stuff in so we could check things.

Our first but luckily I was prepared to check everything on the new to us Motorhome. Seemed to be better prepared than him in some respects.

Gumpster808 10-27-2017 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RamblerGuy (Post 1656887)
It may be a generic thermostat that says heat pump. Maybe someone can tell us if they have different ones if equipped with heat pump or not.

The Dometic thermostat in our 2011 year model Sunseeker 3100 has Zone 1 and Zone 2, but that does nothing.



Yeah that is what I figured it was on ours and didnít expect it to do anything but surprise [emoji3]

Wolverine 1945 10-27-2017 09:43 AM

I will report back after I try ours,,, don't think we have a Heat Pump,,,
But will find out later today !!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.