Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Appliances and Electronics (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/)
-   -   Directv dish (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/directv-dish-28322.html)

travelinfitter 08-24-2012 10:16 PM

Directv dish
 
I've been fighting this amd reading everything I can for the past 2 days. I picked up a directv dish off craigslist. A slimline dish with a sl3pig-p lnb. I have a h24-700 receiver. When I hook it up and go into setup it tells me that "tuner 1: not aquired" so what do I need to do? Do I need b-band converters? Do I need a power inserter?

showtime0022 08-25-2012 04:53 AM

If its a slimline you need power adapter for it. Tuner not acquired means its not align right to satellite in the sky

RickV 08-25-2012 07:45 AM

I just did some looking and this is the first time I have seen a LNB that looks like that. It says built in SWM so you probably need a PI the reciever doesn't put out enough voltage to energize the SWM LNB and I have read you can damage your receiver trying. I have the 3 LNB SWM Slimline one wire dish and that's what I had to do. Look at this post SL3PIG-P SLIMLINE does it do SWM? - DBSTalk.Com also while you there you could do some searching for more info on that site.

travelinfitter 08-25-2012 02:22 PM

Awesome. Do I need the b-band convertors for that?

RickV 08-25-2012 03:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by travelinfitter (Post 242771)
Awesome. Do I need the b-band convertors for that?

No this I know for sure with the SWM the B's are eliminated. The SWM was a one wire solution for multi box/tuner setups so a additional cables wouldn't have to be run to an existing one wire house setup. Make sure change the setting in the Satellite Setup to "Switch" type to SWM after it runs the setup it may show a problem detect 2 of the 5 Satellites just click on continue and it will work. That site I directed you to has some guys on there that are like the "Experts" on here they know their stuff. Also for $100 you can get a H25 receiver from Solid Signal it has a very small footprint that's what I did, I got tired of lugging a HR21 DVR back and forth to the TT DIRECTV H25 High Definition MPEG-4 Receiver (H-25) from Solid Signal and pickup a PI from ebay New Directv SWM Power Inserter Supply 21V PI21R1-03 SWIM LNB Green Label | eBay

showtime0022 08-25-2012 03:52 PM

Take a pic of your set up ( dish ) so we can see what you have. Im currently in the process of doing this same mod to my toy hauler

RickV 08-25-2012 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by showtime0022 (Post 242812)
Take a pic of your set up ( dish ) so we can see what you have. Im currently in the process of doing this same mod to my toy hauler

Are you asking me or travelinfitter?

showtime0022 08-25-2012 04:44 PM

Travel but if you got some ... Not gonna turn them down ... :)

RickV 08-25-2012 05:01 PM

I don't have a pick of my dish actually setup will get one next time I go camping. Here is what I use though https://www.forestriverforums.com/att...7f6ed744e8.jpg

The dish mounting pole has four bolts and when loose they articulate, there is a bubble level in the top of the pole. I just drop the frame on the ground get it close to level, twist and move the pole until bubble is level lock it down with a nut driver and slide the dish on. The Wife is in the camper and i slowly move the dish across the horizon until she sees signal in the setup screen I then move it a hair one or the other until I get the best signal and lock the dish down. Takes me 5 minutes to set everything. It is called a non penetrating dish mount. I found it on Craigslist with the Slimline SWN dish for $50.

travelinfitter 08-25-2012 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by showtime0022
Travel but if you got some ... Not gonna turn them down ... :)

Ill try to get a pic on Monday.

showtime0022 08-27-2012 04:37 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Heres the pic of my setup I bought on craigslist.

travelinfitter 08-29-2012 07:33 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Alright so I got my power inserter tonight. Hooked it all up and I'm getting readings on the transponders. But only every other one. When I go to finish the install it says no satellite signal could be detected.

travelinfitter 08-29-2012 09:06 PM

Soo I removed the power inserter and it now pics up all but one transponder on 101. It doesn't pic up anything in 99 or 103… do I need the b band connectors for these satellites? I have an H24-700 box.

RickV 08-30-2012 05:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by travelinfitter (Post 245089)
Soo I removed the power inserter and it now pics up all but one transponder on 101. It doesn't pic up anything in 99 or 103… do I need the b band connectors for these satellites? I have an H24-700 box.

So you removed the PI and it worked? I can't understand how that is working without the PI. As for the B converters I have a HR24 without a SWM in the house and no Bs are needed for it. In your sat setup do you have the correct Dis, Switch and Tuner type selected?

travelinfitter 08-30-2012 05:56 AM

Yeah it was readi g every other transponder with the PI hooked up. I unhooked it and it read all but two transponders on 101 but it wont pick anything up on the 99 or 103.

showtime0022 08-30-2012 12:40 PM

With HD you need all sats to pick up. You will get some channels but not all if you don't get them all tuned. Start with 101 and get to highest signal you can. Then change transponder to SWM then fine tune dish.

TURBS 08-30-2012 12:43 PM

After reading this thread I'm GLAD I have dish network.
So much easier

camper_Lucy 08-30-2012 01:41 PM

You do not need a PI, 101 is the easy sat to align to, use the link below to align to

Satellite Finder / Dish Alignment Calculator with Google Maps | DishPointer.com

set to: Directv sl3 99, 101, 103

that will give you all the setting for point your dish, make sure it is on level ground before you start, best to have a meter in-line at the dish to determine signal reads.

travelinfitter 08-30-2012 02:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camper_Lucy
You do not need a PI, 101 is the easy sat to align to, use the link below to align to

Satellite Finder / Dish Alignment Calculator with Google Maps | DishPointer.com

set to: Directv sl3 99, 101, 103

that will give you all the setting for point your dish, make sure it is on level ground before you start, best to have a meter in-line at the dish to determine signal reads.

I have it aligned and get great signal on the 101. I'm not getting anything on the 99 or 103

camper_Lucy 08-30-2012 02:41 PM

Generally then either you do not have the elevation correct, or you are slightly off on the azimuth.

Make sure you are starting on level ground, slightly up/down hill relative to horizon will through you off and a few degrees will miss the 103 & 99.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.