Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   General Tech and Repair (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f110/)
-   -   Super Strange Furnace Issue (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f110/super-strange-furnace-issue-97954.html)

Hthunder 12-17-2015 07:57 AM

Super Strange Furnace Issue
 
I bought my Flagstaff 831RLBSS on Nov 4 and pulled it to Gulf State Park 3 days later. Used the furnace all month in Nov off and on occasionally. Used up one bottle of propane and it automatically switched to the other tank. Left trailer for a few days to return to Tn. Came back and when I turned the heat on the blower would come on and run a minute and shut off. I checked the propane tanks and filled the one empty one. Still no heat. Called warranty repair and they gave me 3 RV repair facilities. I called Cherokee RV and the service tech came out and checked the unit. He found that the switch on the furnace was turned off!!!!

So, how is this possible? I did not turn it off. I don't think I can even reach the switch with the init in place. I know I used the heat prior to this.

Strange things!!

5picker 12-17-2015 09:02 AM

What furnace switch?

TURBS 12-17-2015 09:05 AM

I agree what furnace switch?

Hthunder 12-17-2015 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TURBS (Post 1058490)
I agree what furnace switch?

There is a switch inside the furnace that turns the control board on and off.

TURBS 12-17-2015 10:04 AM

Suburban furnace?

Hthunder 12-17-2015 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TURBS (Post 1058523)
Suburban furnace?

Yes it is a Suburban but I do not know the model number.

A32Deuce 12-17-2015 10:18 AM

FM!

bob caldwell 12-17-2015 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by A32Deuce (Post 1058538)
FM!

X2 :roflblack:

TURBS 12-17-2015 10:53 AM

Where did he access said switch?

fonzie 12-17-2015 11:24 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Usually on the side of the furnace......

Hthunder 12-17-2015 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TURBS (Post 1058568)
Where did he access said switch?

He pulled the unit and the switch was right inside the housing where the wires go in.

I wonder if the switch was not pushed all the way on and vibration caused it to move to the off position. No signs of a mouse..lol.

I assume this is not an overload switch?

Cost me $140.00 service call. Non warranty issue according to tech. I will discuss with my dealer!

5picker 12-17-2015 11:53 AM

Was this switch accessible from an outside compartment/storage area?
If so, was it locked?
If not, (accessible only from inside your camper) was it locked?

The service guy actually had to "pull the unit" to get to the switch?

bob caldwell 12-17-2015 12:05 PM

Havn't seen anything more then the intake/exhaust vent accessible from outside.....furnaces , the ones I'v seen, are installed from inside....very easy to remove.

Hthunder 12-17-2015 12:14 PM

Ep, only access is from inside unit. There is a panel below the refrigerator that is screwed on with 4 Phillips screws.

oldtool2 12-17-2015 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hthunder (Post 1058621)
Ep, only access is from inside unit. There is a panel below the refrigerator that is screwed on with 4 Phillips screws.

Is it possible the tech hit the switch when removing the furnace? Something just does not sound right.

Jim

gunpro 12-17-2015 03:56 PM

You want to talk about strange! I live in Northern Alberta and was pulling the 5er south with the 04 Dodge Ram3500 Cummins. Me and DW had travelled at least 250 Km and I pulled up to an intersection. When I started to pull ahead the truck hesitated a bit and I hit the brakes, maybe 10 feet into the intersection and the truck stopped. Upon failing to start after several attempts CAA was called and hauled our sorry butts off to the local Dodge dealer, 5er and all. Dodge had a look and told me the fuel pump fuse was missing. Wasn't in there, don't know where or when it went! They put in a new fuse and it hasn't stopped since.

Hthunder 12-17-2015 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldtool2 (Post 1058701)
Is it possible the tech hit the switch when removing the furnace? Something just does not sound right.

Jim

It's possible but the unit would not work when he pulled it out and it did after.

Bama Rambler 12-17-2015 04:17 PM

Your symptoms sound like a stuck sail switch. I bet that he bumped the on/off switch when removing the unit and chalked the problem up to that. However, I suspect that removing the unit jarred the sail switch loose and that's what actually fixed the problem.

TURBS 12-17-2015 04:48 PM

Wouldn't blower still run?

Hthunder 12-17-2015 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TURBS (Post 1058801)
Wouldn't blower still run?

The blower would run for about a minute the shut off. It may have been a stuck sail switch. Didn't think about that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.