Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Electrical, Charging Systems & Solar (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f218/)
-   -   Current Draw (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f218/current-draw-9890.html)

dashonthedash 12-31-2010 06:21 PM

Current Draw
 
Does anyone know what the total current draw would be for a 32-inch LCD TV, a microwave (standard Georgetown VE model) and a single 15,000 BTU A/C? How much more current does a 15K A/C draw than a 13.5K model (had one of those in my old unit)?

Better add a 2-door fridge to that calculation.

scubieman 12-31-2010 07:01 PM

Do you mean how many watts?

I'm guessing here. Alot ?

32 inch is about 400 - 500 watts
microwave should say on front but usually 700 watts or more
AC unit is about 1500 watts

Just guessing here. Really it varies alot. Each item should say on it. The older it is usually the more it draws.

dashonthedash 12-31-2010 07:48 PM

No, I mean current (amps). I'm trying to determine if I'm going to have to watch my usage to keep under 30 amps. I never had any difficulty with my Winnebago, but not sure how the new Georgetown will compare (don't have it yet).

scubieman 12-31-2010 07:52 PM

If you have 1 AC you should be fine. Two then you would have to watch. The way I see it, if you overload the 30 amp breaker it will just pop the breaker. You reset breaker and don't use that much next time.

Overall I would say you should be fine.

donn 12-31-2010 09:01 PM

ac about 12-14 running. Micro 10-12 running. Incidentals can be anywhere fron 4 to 10.

scubieman 01-01-2011 02:35 AM

LPG detector draws .2 amps
Single dual bulb light (198 bulbs) 2.3 amps
Single dual bulb light (LED panels) .1 amps
Light fixture over dining table (4 198 bulbs) 4.5 amps
Single reading light over bed (1 198 bulb) .8 amps
Recessed Halogen lighting, living room (6 lights) 8.4 amps Full on
2.1 amps Fully dimmed
Recessed Halogen lighting, over sink (1 light) 1.4 amps Full on
.4 amps Fully dimmed
Recessed Halogen lighting, over couch (3 lights) 4 amps Full on
1.2 amps Fully Dimmed
Refrigerator 1.2 amps
Furnace
(Suburban SF35) 7 amps
Water Pump (Shurflo Smart Sensor 5.7) 11.9 amps running, 12.6 max
Exterior porch lights (3 incandescent bulbs) 2.8 amps
Exterior Porch Lights (3 LED bulbs) .8 amps

Hipshot 01-13-2011 08:21 PM

My TT has 30 amp service. Last summer the tv (26 inch LCD) was on, the AC (15000) was on, I was taking a shower (electric water heater) was on, and wife decided to microwave a ear of corn. Main breaker in the TT tripped. I had heard of this happening. We now keep in mind what we are running.

scubieman 01-15-2011 09:32 PM

I want to make sure I understand something here.

How do you figure out how many amps my furnace using? My chart is about 7 amps. Does this mean it uses 7 amps in 1 hour?

dashonthedash 01-15-2011 10:25 PM

No, what that means is that the furnace draws 7 amps of current when it is running. Current is the measure of the rate of flow of an electrical charge through a circuit. One ampere of current means that one coulomb of charge is flowing through the circuit every second. If the furnace is running for one second, it will be drawing 7 amps during that second. If the furnace is running for one hour, maybe you better get it fixed, but it is still drawing 7 amps while it is running. The current that the furnace draws is actually a measure of how well the furnace "allows" (or conversely, "resists") the flow of charge. According to Ohm's Law, current = voltage/resistance, so if you get a short circuit, there is theoretically infinite current (but not really, since there is always resistance in the wires). Excessive current can cause wiring and electrical components that are not designed for that level of current to fail, and even lead to a fire, which is why there are fuses and circuit breakers.

By the way, current can be measured by an instrument called an ammeter, which is placed in series with the circuit being measured. The instrument measures current by measuring the voltage drop across a fixed resistance.

scubieman 01-15-2011 10:28 PM

I guess to make it easier. If my furnance draws 7 amps how long would a 225 AH battery last?

Herk7769 01-15-2011 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scubieman (Post 78219)
I guess to make it easier. If my furnance draws 7 amps how long would a 225 AH battery last?

If the furnace is your only draw, divide 7 into 225 and that is how many hours it will last. 32 hours and change...

Of course the furnace does not run 24/7 and there are other draws on the system.

dashonthedash 01-15-2011 10:57 PM

About 32 hours, if there is nothing else drawing current.

donn 01-15-2011 11:42 PM

Actually only about 16 hours. Taking in account that you should not discharge a battery beyond 50%. So that 225 amp hour battery is really only good for about 112 amps.
Now in the real world a single 12VDC gp27 deep cycle battery will be dead in one night of cool/cold weather.

Herk7769 01-16-2011 07:51 AM

That is true and totally correct in all respects.

However, the question seemed to indicate "operation until flameout" and was answered that way.

donn 01-16-2011 12:10 PM

Was not disagreeing with you. I was merely trying to state the real world facts. As any more than that will kill a battery.

scubieman 01-16-2011 12:13 PM

Thank you both for your responses its helpful to know what I should run it to and what I can run it too.

john1345 11-03-2013 12:27 PM

Radio shack sells a clamp on amp probe, if I remember it only cost me about $10 or $15 awhile back. Now on the total amperage load on a ckt breaker, back in my communication center installation days a standard ckt breaker is good for a 50% overload.

John

mfMcFroggierPod 08-15-2015 11:03 PM

All devices have a data plate:
Either watts or amps are specified.
To calculate:
Watts/ Volts= Amps
or Amps * Volts = Watts


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums

Too Tall 01-23-2016 06:06 PM

I run the stock Rockwood / Furion TV and the sound system on a 200 WT converter.

bikendan 01-23-2016 07:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Too Tall (Post 1084652)
I run the stock Rockwood / Furion TV and the sound system on a 200 WT converter.

You mean INverter, right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.